I Wish I Could Dance

I’ve always felt very passionate about dance. All kinds of dance. Hip hop, ballet, contemporary, jazz, etc. I used to dream about it. I couldn’t listen to music without daydreaming up a choreography to go with it.

But… I can’t actually dance. And I wish I could.

I will never forgive my mom for not sticking me in dance lessons when I was little. Of course, not everyone can afford such things. So, I can’t blame her really. We weren’t very privileged back then. I should have taught myself to dance. Now I feel like I’m too old to start. Nineteen is late. Normally people start when they’re three… or five.. or you get it. Young. Now I feel like my body is past due on trying to learn dance.

I used to do gymnastics. And that’s sort of a good foundation for dance. So, I know I have a potential. But it will most likely go unrecognized.

Maybe someday, when I’m old, I’ll take ballroom dance classes with my husband in an attempt to spice up the relationship. That’s most likely the closest I’ll get to ever fulfilling my dance potential.

2 thoughts on “I Wish I Could Dance

  1. Dude, samesies. I dream of dancing. I just don’t know how. I took salsa class in college at some point, and it was the best semester ever! I felt awesome, beautiful, confident. We won awards (for that short time). It’s just been difficult to get back in to it. So sad.

    • That’s awesome! I really love hip hop, and when I was younger, I would pretend I knew how to dance. And I feel like I have musicality and rhythm. I just don’t have the guidance to turn that into being a dancer. I should see if my college has anything like that. Salsa would be fun too.

Leave a Reply

