Happy Endings

Queen Grimhilde sat in silence watching the room around her with a smile in her dark eyes. She listened to the complaints and the upheaval with joy.

“That little brat stole the man of my daughter’s dreams!”

“They all ended up with the man of their dreams!”

“What makes them so special?”

“Where are our happy endings?”

She decided it was time to step in and get this started, “Ladies and gentlemen, that is precisely why we are here.” She smiled widely, her red lipstick standing out against the fairness of her face. Everyone turned to look up at her in her throne at the head of the table, “I know I haven’t been the friendliest of hostesses in the past, but I think we can settle our differences for the sake of getting our happy endings, don’t you think?” Her voice was husky and demanding.

Maleficent was the first to agree, “Yes. I think we can settle our differences,” she smiled too, her dark blond hair pinned up to her head, “As long as Aurora gets what she really deserves.”

“And she will,” the Queen smiled.

“So, what are we doing?” Gaston boomed, his black hair tied back at the nape of his neck.

The Queen laughed, “Oh, Gaston, patience darling. You will get your Belle back.”

“Ha! I don’t want that harlot back. Someone says they’re going to marry you? They’re supposed to marry you. Not go off and get it on with a monster. No. I have something much worse planned.”

Everyone looked at him.

“Don’t worry dear, you will have your revenge. I promise it.” The Queen took a sip of her wine from the jeweled goblet in front of her.

Ursula ran her hand through her long, black hair, “What do you propose we do?” Her dark green eyes shined mischievously.

“You know what I think?” Lady Tremaine began haughtily, “I think we should just steal their Prince Charmings.”

“Don’t worry Lady Tremaine. We will do that and more. Those worthless little girls will pay for their actions.”

Jafar, who had been silent the whole time, now spoke, “Ladies,” he nodded, “Gaston. I have a plan.” He smiled a crooked smile, his voice sounding more like a serpent than a man.

The Queen nodded, “Very well.”

“But we will need a few others to join the party. Don’t worry. They have the same motive as we do.”

“Very well. What is the plan?”

“First, we must let them invite us into their homes. They must learn to trust us.”

Lady Tremaine interrupted, “How do you propose we do that?!”

Jafar’s eyes flickered to her direction in annoyance, “We will be in disguise,” He continued, “Once we gain their trust, we kill their husbands. Inconspicuously,” he added, staring at Lady Tremaine, “They will have no choice but to depend on us. We will—“

Lady Tremaine interrupted again, “But, I want him for my daughters! I don’t want to kill him!”

Jafar sighed, “Okay… I’m sure I can conjure something special up for you…”

The Queen smiled, “Good. We are making progress. We can figure everything out later. I just want to make sure we are all in.”

Ursula: “Yes.”

Maleficent: “I am.”

Gaston: “Let’s do this!”

Jafar: “Indeed.”

Lady Tremaine watched as everyone around the table agreed, “I suppose…”

The Queen smiled victoriously, “There is no way we shall fail this time!” She raised her goblet, “Cheers to us!”

Everyone raised their goblets, “Cheers to us!”

Leave a Reply

